A crash course in web 2.0

There are lots of terms bandied about in terms of the Internet and online marketing. I get great hits and good feedback when I talk digital, so here is my attempt at cutting through the jargon and explaining in simple terms what it’s all about.

If you look up Web 2.0 on Wikipedia you get some theory about it being about user-generated design and collaboration. In simple terms, it’s about putting yourself in your customer’s shoes and ‘giving them what they want’ – the original and most basic description of marketing.

It’s more than using the Internet for information. Web 2.0 is a catch all term referring to the creation and use of online engagement tools like social networks (MySpace, Facebook, Linkedin), blogs, wikis, and media sharing sites (Slide Share, Flickr and YouTube).

It’s about sharing, informing, helping, engaging. Once you understand this and embrace it, it will have a benefit to your business and how it and you are perceived.

Understanding what is available is the first step in deciding where to start with it. I encourage those amongst you who are new to Web 2.0 to check out my blog dated 18 September to find inspiration on how to navigate through this landscape as pain free as possible.

4 responses to “A crash course in web 2.0

  1. Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post!

  2. Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

  3. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

