Blogging (in hindsight)

writingI’ve had a reality check about blogging.

I haven’t posted an entry on my blog for a fortnight because of work pressures. What I’ve realised is that even if you have a long list of topics you want to write about, or lots of current news stories to comment on, if you don’t have or make the time, or lose the will because of work or domestic pressure or simple ‘blog fatigue’, then it simply doesn’t happen. And when your blog becomes expected, this will disappoint your contacts and readers.

In a way, I liken it to going to the gym. Once you fall out of the habit and resolve to starting again ‘tomorrow’ – tomorrow becomes after the weekend, becomes next week, becomes next month.

I’ve realised that trying to put something informative and relevant out to the people who have subscribed, and then syndicating it across all my networks, takes on average about 80 minutes per day to do it properly. That’s how I’ve achieved over 100 reads a day on the blog and rising, and another 150 across my social networks but it’s probably unsustainable with a day job!

I read a great blog on Linkedin (check out http://www.selectivityinc.com/blog/) about putting in place an editorial calendar and sticking to it. Wise words, I imagine that’s what Seth does!

As a result I’m refining my output down to a more managable 3 times a week to ensure that I maintain quality and relevance. I’m aiming to do this Monday, Wednesday & Friday. If in the future, time allows, then I’ll get back up to five times daily!

Apologies if you’ve had to do without your little bit of daily Marketing Assassin magic! I’ll be back in the saddle tomorrow.

Best wishes, and as always, comments welcome!

René

5 responses to “Blogging (in hindsight)

  1. Hi,

    thanks for the great quality of your blog, each time i come here, i’m amazed.

    black hattitude.

  2. Hello,

    i registered because i do believe this is the right place for me.

    bye 🙂

    ]competitive intelligence

  3. Pingback: A year as a blogger « The Marketing Assassin

  4. Pingback: Best b2b social media tools: Blogs | The Marketing Assassin

Leave a Reply

