B2B marketers, do you have Klout on Twitter?

Klout, is apparently the barometer for measuring influence across online social networks. It is becoming more important to b2b marketers migrating more activity online as it offers a way of validating that activity and create an ROI metric.

If you use Hootsuite to operate your Twitter account, you might have noticed it appeared several months ago, without much fanfare. But don’t be fooled, it drives the thinking of lots of social networkers and you should be aware of it.

The debate has raged as to how the score (anything from 1 to 100) is calculated, what it draws on and ultimately how relevant it is.

On the How we Measure page, Klout talks about True Reach, Amplification, Probability and Network Score. In essence, this relates to how often your tweets are clicked, commented on and retweeted.

To me, measuring on this basis and giving a comparitive score makes sense, but isn’t it simply skewed in favour of Twitter accounts with very large followings? And if you don’t get involved in conversations on Twitter – instead preferring to use email, the phone or face-to-face techniques – your score is heavily reduced.

My own case illustrates this. I’m a pretty active Twitter user. I use it to broadcast new blog posts from The Marketing Assassin, and BDB.  I also share a lot of interesting content I source from the web and other Twitter users and this is often taken up by other users. And I indulge in some conversations too. I’ve built my following steadily and resist automation. I roughly have the same number of followers as I follow and am well into the thousands.

My Klout score for a long time was 5 (out of 100) which to me, just didn’t stack up. Consequently, I paid little interest in Klout. Then a few weeks back it jumped to 48. I didn’t change my level or type of activity so it leaves me thinking is it really relevant.

I’m not convinced but I do credit the people behind it for trying to create a metric to determine social networking value. It does after all suck up time, and especially in the professional b2b space, time is money.

What’s your take /experience on Klout?

Image: Social Fresh

2 responses to “B2B marketers, do you have Klout on Twitter?

  1. I agree it’s a little mysterious – and optimizing the Klout score shouldn’t be a guiding Twitter strategy. I’ve noticed that when I stop following a few folks who put up continuous self-promoting updates that don’t interest me (make money from home), Klout keeps telling me that they’re influential and suggest I follow them. Hmm. And when I reshifted my strategy and started following more of the companies that are my target prospects, my Klout score took a dive – then mysteriously recovered. So, Klout score is no replacement for either strategy or meaningful use. On the other hand, it’s fun to check every now and then 🙂

    • I think the algorithm is at fault. As I say in the post, those that create huge followings and then use Twitter instead of email and for all contact are inevitably going to shine according to Klout. And if you say link to the top ten Twitter accounts like Ashton Kutcher, Britney Spears, Barack Obama, Justin Bieber and Ryan Seacrest (which I’m not) and they respond/reply to you or retweet you, because of their ‘influential’ position you get influence. See, flawed. But we have to start somewhere.

Leave a Reply

