Are you are a valued contributor or an Internet bore?

Let me elaborate.

Blog and article response is an increasingly valid strategy to drive traffic to your own Internet pages. The best approach often lies in targeting a small number of high traffic sites that write regularly about the industry you are operating in. Popular sites post multiple times a day on a number of related subjects.

Often, if you log in or have a comment account with WordPress, Disqus or an OpenID your name will be hyperlinked giving you an important back link.

I think this is a valid strategy when done well and when a comment adds value to an article. Increasingly though, I’m seeing inane short responses which do nothing to benefit the article or the reader. They are self serving. If you do this, by and large you’ll be outed over time.

The other area of concern, is of course Twitter. Or should I say Linkedin. There is a growing number who have synchronised their expansive number of Twitter updates through to their Linkedin account. Have they never studied the importance of segmentation and targeting?

If I follow you on Twitter and I like your tweet, thanks, I’ll use it. Maybe I’ll retweet it. Occasionally it will spur me on to write a blog about it where you’ll get some credit and a back link.

I’m increasingly thinking that Twitter integration with Linkedin needs to be reduced. There are a growing number of creeping bores who think everyone they are connected to on Linkedin needs to see all their tweets so they send them there too. For me the net effect is that, of 350+ contacts I see the same 20 or so, every time I check into my Linkedin account. And sadly, often it isn’t terribly highbrow stuff – lunch, foursquare status, what they’re reading and so on.

Most of the people I’m connected to are marketers, but are they practising good marketing, targeted and segmented communication? I’m not so sure.

And I wonder what their managers, clients or customers make of it. Taking over someone’s stream isn’t the best way to engage them in my eyes.

13 responses to “Are you are a valued contributor or an Internet bore?

  1. Those social media consultants have much to answer for!

    Many of my LinkedIn contacts are busy professionals and I doubt they use the service regularly.
    At first I was in awe of the #in flag to post status updates to LI from a tweet. I’ve recently toned it down a lot as I doubt these achieve much.
    Better to contribute to LI relevant discussion groups where people visit to read, write and learn.

    • It’s a good comment Mark. Most people don’t necessarily realise their settings are doing this, as they probably set this up some time ago and then carried on tweeting. Hopefully its a timely reminder to some.

  2. Pingback: Are you are a valued contributor or an Internet bore? | The Marketing Assassin | MarketFix

  3. Thanks for another thought-provoking post, Rene. I couldn’t agree more. Whilst I’m a self-confessed ‘geek-in-training’, even I know that whilst colleagues in the marketing profession may be interested in the occasional ‘personality tweet’ that shows I’m human (via Twitter), it’s highly unlikely they’ll want to know that I’ve ‘just bought some excellent sausages- yum’ (or similar) via a LinkedIn update which I consider a pure business networking tool.

    • Good man! I think I’m getting a bit fatigued by the whole Twitter-Linkedin status feed right now Steve. I post a single blog link at 9am on the days when I have one, other than that, I leave it to run itself. Using Hootsuite means I keep a tight control on what updates go where.

  4. Going back to your first point Rene, people need to understand that comments are for advancing the conversation, not inane agreement. I’m sure they’re the people at conferences that ‘question’ speakers by telling them how wonderful they are. And don’t get me started on people that post automatically between Twitter/LinkedIn or try to friend business contacts on Facebook – separate channels demand separate content/focus

    • Great that you stopped by Chris. Encouraged that it wasn’t just me having an angry rant. The blog comments aside, I’m genuinely being put off people I thought I knew using Linkedin to spam broadcast, often really trivial stuff. Isn’t that for your Facebook wall?

  5. I couldn’t agree more. In my experience, there is a lack of understanding of what LinkedIn is for and what Twitter is for. Tweeting from LinkedIn or using the #in on Twitter is for lazy people. There is a wealth of information out there to help you understand how to use these different Social Media mediums. Some people either cannot be bothered to educate themselves or already think they know it all.
    I try to abide by these rules:
    Twitter = business-related news and opinions (although I am a bit guilty of letting some of my personal stuff creep into this. I must set up another account).
    LinkedIn = business-related networking
    Facebook = most definitely personal

  6. I think the most important thing here is that your tweets, posts, updates, comments etc. have value. If I check into FourSquare at McDonalds- and share that through Facebo0k and Twitter- all that says is I’m eating a lousy lunch. If I check into a convention or, perhaps, a more fine dining place, that might actually say something about me or my day- and might (or might not) be worth sharing. But to automatically share all things is ridiculous, and I’m not sure its always just about the automated settings.

    I feed my Twitter status through LinkedIn, and not the other way around. I figure if it’s worth posting on LI, it’s worth feeding through to Twitter.

    Thanks for the discussion.

    Eric L. Steckel
    BARS+TONE
    Creative Video Agency

    • You make some good points Eric. Automation is too dangerous. Different audiences and platforms have different information needs. And I think you can add value on location based tweets if you really think hard enough (!) – but it wasn’t really set up for that purpose, wasn’t it set up to meet your contacts? All good stuff though.

  7. Just re-reading this (after seeing your Tweet) and I was going to sync my Twitter with LinkedIn, so won’t do that now. But what about Twitter to Facebook? I figured that way I would keep my FB page going without having to spend too long on posting, as my new target is now Twitter.

    • Thanks Jane. I’m still considering Facebook but as a social media hub, it is growing in stature.

Leave a Reply

